E.T.R.T.O. was founded in October 1964 but previously, from 1956 to 1964, it was known as the European Tyre and Wheel Technical Conference (ETWTC).

Its principal objects, as stated in the current E.T.R.T.O. Constitution dated October 2019, are as follows :
  • To  further align of  national  standards  and  ultimately to  achieve interchangeability of pneumatic tyres, rims and valves in Europe as far as fitting and use are concerned.
  • To  establish common  engineering  dimensions, load / pressure characteristics  and  operational guidelines.
  • To promote the free  exchange  of technical information appertaining to pneumatic tyres, rims and valves.

Since tyres are recognised as making a major contribution to road safety, E.T.R.T.O. is active in its contacts with national and international organisations and legislative bodies in order to make appropriate recommendations. However, the activities of E.T.R.T.O. are strictly confined to technical aspects of tyres, rims and valves as far as fitting and use are concerned.

Full membership is open to any manufacturer of tyres (pneumatic and/or solid), rims or valves, and whose manufacturing facilities are located in Europe and those applicants within the consideration of Section 8.2.(a) of the ETRTO Constitution.  (The complete Constitution is available upon request)

Secretary General : Nicolas de Mahieu | Senior Engineer : Marco Tosca | Junior Engineer : Josep Guinjoan Torras |Secretaries : Marina Bekisz & Jacqueline Boonen 


Avenue d'Auderghem 22-28 | B - 1040 Brussels | BELGIUM | Tel: +32.2.344.40.59 |Email: